Sinus Infection Basics
CDC · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Persistence, worsening, severe pain, fever and recurrence. Does not establish a diagnosis.
Every treatment and clinical branch links to sources. Source checking is separate from medical approval.
This educational guide has not been clinically validated. Source-backed does not mean that the finder has been clinically validated.
US regulatory guidance, public-health advice, professional guidelines and drug labels come first. Systematic reviews help distinguish a plausible treatment from one supported by stronger evidence. A product label can impose an earlier stopping point than an illness guideline.
The live explorer matches reference information to symptoms and known context. It accepts incomplete answers and never treats them as proof of suitability. Known warning signs pause matching. The same answers produce the same output. Qualitative evidence labels describe support for an intervention, not the probability of a diagnosis.
The labels are an editorial simplification, not a formal GRADE reassessment. All clinical rules remain marked “needs clinical review.”
Inspect the rules and review queuePublication dates below are shown when available. “Date not stated” is not a claim that the source was recently updated. The oral phenylephrine page describes a proposed FDA action at this check; no final removal order is asserted.
CDC · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Persistence, worsening, severe pain, fever and recurrence. Does not establish a diagnosis.
CDC · Clinical guidance · 2024-04-16 · Checked 2026-09-05
Severe onset, persistence and double worsening. Used only for referral, never antibiotic selection.
AAO-HNSF · Clinical guideline · 2025-07-31 · Checked 2026-09-05
Updated adult guidance. Symptoms alone do not confirm chronic rhinosinusitis.
AAO-HNSF · Clinical guideline · 2025-05-27 · Checked 2026-09-05
Twelve weeks plus objective confirmation for diagnosis; this tool offers neither examination nor diagnosis.
AAO-HNS / ENT Health · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Persistent one-sided symptoms require assessment.
NICE · Clinical guideline · 2017-10-27 · Checked 2026-09-05
UK emergency complication criteria supplement US sources. Search-index text verified; direct page retrieval was restricted. Wording and urgency need clinician review.
MedlinePlus / NLM · Patient guidance · 2025-07-28 · Checked 2026-09-05
Emergency criteria and first aid; recurrent bleeding requires review.
AAAAI / ACAAI Joint Task Force · Practice parameter · 2020-10 · Checked 2026-09-05
Preferred monotherapy for persistent allergic rhinitis; intranasal treatment options for nonallergic rhinitis.
AAAAI · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Trigger patterns and treatment classes.
ACAAI · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Medication classes, sedation and precautions.
FDA · Regulatory information · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
At source check, FDA page describes a proposed removal, not a final order. Oral efficacy finding does not apply to nasal formulations.
CDC · Safety guidance · 2024-05-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
CDC boiling method: one minute; three minutes above 6,500 feet; cool before use.
FDA · Safety guidance · 2025-04-28 · Checked 2026-09-05
Device hygiene, saline and immune suppression. FDA gives a different boiling duration; prototype explicitly uses CDC method.
Cochrane · Systematic review · 2018-07-04 · Checked 2026-09-05
Low or very low certainty; no established best volume or concentration from this review.
AAAAI · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Technique, irritation and practical use. No experimental additives adopted.
ENT UK · Patient guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
Aim away from septum. Follow formulation-specific instructions.
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2024-05-20 · Checked 2026-09-05
DailyMed / NLM · Product labeling · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05
OTC stop-and-ask threshold after one week without improvement.
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2022-03-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2024-06-20 · Checked 2026-09-05
DailyMed / NLM · OTC product labeling · 2025-12-05 · Checked 2026-09-05
US OTC azelastine formulation; allergic rhinitis indication. Not an OTC label for nonallergic rhinitis.
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2026-04-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2026-03-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2026-03-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2026-03-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2016-09-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
Maximum three days. Rebound, comorbidity and interaction warnings.
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2025-06-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2025-10-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
MedlinePlus / ASHP · Drug information · 2023-09-15 · Checked 2026-09-05
FDA · Safety guidance · 2024-02-01 · Checked 2026-09-05
ENT UK · Patient guidance · 2024-10-22 · Checked 2026-09-05
Rinse before nasal medication.
DailyMed / NLM · OTC labeling · 2026-02-12 · Checked 2026-09-05
NIH / NCCIH · Evidence and safety guidance · Date not stated · Checked 2026-09-05